The Blue Squash Monster

This week I dealt with the beast of the squash family! An old time friend offered her blue hubbard squash a week ago and I took it off her hands. I knew ahead of time that it was going to be large but I don’t think I fully comprehended how big. When blue hubbard is offered at the grocery store it is sold in chunks not whole. Now, I know why.
blue hubbardI finally decided to tackel the “troll turd”, as my husband likes to call it, after a week of ignoring it. I sharpened my knife and laid a towel down and started to use my big muscles to get inside. blue hubbard inside I finally broke through and cleaned up the seeds and pulp and threw it in the oven. Let’s just say that cooking a whole hubbard squash is a whole day project. In the end, I got ten cups of squash. I would describe hubbard like pumpkin or butternut squash: sweet, great for soups, baked goods, or roasted with some maple syrup. Next time I use it, it will be in a pre-cut chunk from the grocery store. But, for now, I am set for the year with my 8 cups in the freezer.

For this week’s recipe I decided to go with a treat. After all, I needed to reward myself with all the hard work breaking down that beast!
hubbard squash bread
Hubbard Streusel Bread

Bread:
2 eggs
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup oil
2 cups Hubbard squash purée (butternut or pumpkin would work)
1/3 cup buttermilk
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 cup flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground clove
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp salt

Streusel Topping
1/2 cup flour
1/3 cup sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
3 tbsp soft butter

1. Preheat oven 350. Grease a large loaf tin.
2. In a large bowl, whisk together sugar, eggs, oil, squash purée, buttermilk, and vanilla until well combined.
3. Add the rest of the dry ingredients to the mix and stir until mixed well.
4. Pour batter into the prepared loaf tin and work on the topping.
5. In a small bowl, mix together the streusel topping ingredients with your hands until it resembles wet sand. Sprinkle on top of the batter in the pan.
6. Bake for one hour.

If you don’t want to spend a day cooking, I would just use canned pumpkin or roast a butternut squash.

Leave a Reply

