My First Refrigerator Cheesecake

My mother made cheesecake for almost every family gathering. She would slave over it the night before Thanksgiving or Christmas and leave it in the oven to help prevent it from cracking. Of course, there were a few that did not obey her command of a warm oven sleep. She always covered it up with some homemade strawberry topping.

I remember one year for Thanksgiving, my poor mother did the slaving over this traditional New York Style Cheesecake and it never reached the dessert table. We headed over to my Aunt’s house and it had just snowed the night before so we stored all of the desserts outside to leave room in the refrigerator. Oh, New England weather! Well, when someone went to retrieve the desserts it was discovered that someone had already helped themselves to our delicious cheesecake. My Aunt at the time had two adorable corgis. They had pretty much eaten the entire cake. Let’s just say they were not the happiest pups for a few days after but I am sure they enjoyed themselves for those few fleeting moments of pigging-out on the cheesecake.

I did not want to mess with turning on the oven for my cheesecake. I decided to try out making a refrigerator set cheesecake. I always thought that this was a cheating method and swore I would never try it. Well, I am now a convert! There is no crack, no overcooked texture, just pure smooth delicious cheesy goodness.
triple chocolate cheesecake
Triple Chocolate Cheesecake

2 cups cookie crumbs (graham crackers, oat biscuits, digestives all work)
3-4 tbsp melted butter
750g/26oz cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup sugar
1 cup thick cream (I may use yogurt or sour cream next time.)
1/4 cup boiling water
3 tsp gelatine
200g/7oz each of dark, white, and milk chocolate, chopped and melted separately

1. Mix together cookie crumbs and butter in a small bowl and press into a springform pan. Put in the freezer while you make your cheesecake layers.
2. Cream together in a large bowl the cheesecake and sugar until smooth. Mix in cream.
3. In a small bowl, stir together boiling water and gelatine until dissolved. Mix the gelatine into the cheesecake mix.
4. Divide cheesecake mix into three bowls and add a different melted chocolate into each bowl.
5. Top the crumb crust with the dark chocolate mix. Freeze for five minutes. Top the dark chocolate layer with the white chocolate. Freeze for five minutes. Top white chocolate layer with milk chocolate. Refrigerate for 4 hours or overnight.

This has to be one of my favorite cheesecake recipes. You can taste the different chocolates in each layer.

One thought on “My First Refrigerator Cheesecake”

  1. This is a non-bake cheesecake. No bkanig is involved.For me, I removed the cream from the Oreo for the base of the cake. For the oreo that is going into the cream mixture, I just roughly chop up the whole Oreo biscuits. For the top, I left the cream on and crashed it. Reason being there is no melted butter to hold the cream together for the top so I just wanted the cream in the Oreo to help hold them together slightly.You don’t have to follow what I did with the top as you can just leave it plain without any topping or you can pipe some cream on the cake and place 1/4 pcs of Oreo on it as decoration.

Leave a Reply

