Nesting

As this pregnancy comes to an end, I find myself nesting and preparing. Every other day, I do a deep clean and purge on a specific room. I have found that if I clean and go full force one day, the next day I am paying for it. So, I plan on taking it slow. Thankfully, I have started early as I am at 33 weeks.

So far, I have done our bedroom. The Minions bed is set up and ready for them. My closet has had a seasonal change. My winter clothes have moved out and my spring clothes have moved back in. The boys’ clothes have been cleaned and folded and put away. My small stock pile of diapers and other accessories has been organized and labeled.

Next was our living room: I started a charity shop pile; and purged a lot of unnecessary items that I know I will not be using in the next six months. It is so nice and clean in both of these rooms. It makes me so happy and calms the worrying third trimester brain. Two rooms down and three more to go!

With the nesting also comes the preparation for the Minions. I plan on making a meal a week until the little ones arrive that can be halved and put into the freezer. This week, I made Greek turkey burgers and I thought I would share. They kind of remind me of if turkey burgers had a baby with spanakopita.

greek turkey burgers

Greek Turkey Burgers

1/2 red onion, finely chopped
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 tsp oregano
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
1/4 cup cooked spinach, chopped and squeezed of all the water
1/4 cup feta, crumbled
1 tbsp capers, chopped (optional)
1lb/500g ground turkey (thigh or breast meat works)

1. Sauté red onion in a tsp of olive oil over medium heat until soft.
2. Add garlic, oregano, and red pepper flakes to the onion and cook until fragrant. Move mix to a large bowl.
3. Mix spinach, feta, capers, and some pepper into the onion mix until well combined. Mix in ground turkey until combined. DO NOT OVER MIX!
4. Divide mix into eight equal portions and form into patties.
5. Heat a grill or cast iron pan over medium high heat with oil. Grill burgers for 3-4 minutes on each side.

I served our burgers with lettuce, tomato, and tzatziki with lemon potatoes on the side. Or you could serve it with my halloumi and olive salad. I place four of the burgers in the freezer on parchment paper and when they are solid, I move them to a bag. To eat them later, leave them in your fridge overnight and cook accordingly. I would also recommend doing this with my Thai Turkey Meatball recipe. Either as meatballs or eight burgers.

One last tip from this nesting momma, label your freezer items! If you do not, you will not use that item. I know exactly what is in my freezer and how I will use it and when. Anyway, that is all from me today. Hope you enjoy my burgers! I feel another room calling!

Leave a Reply

