Theme Time!

Over the past few months, I have learned that I do best if I have a theme for My Homespun Haven. It keeps me motivated and disciplined. I think the past few months have been a great rest for my mind to prep for having double the cuteness come May. But, I need to get back to my passion before I drive myself nuts with baby prep.

So, I have picked a theme inspired by my little minions! I haven’t really had cravings. Nothing really that warrants a loving husband to go out in the middle of the night to pick up some Ben & Jerry’s. But, I have planned my weekly menu around a hunger for something specific. Early in the pregnancy it was red meat and no green vegetables. Thanksgiving dinner was dreamt about for the whole month of November. The occasional cake or cookies have been baked.

But, the one consistent craving has been olives. This is strange for the one who hated olives for most of her life. Growing up, everyone would happily give up their olives to mom when they were put in salads at restaurants. Now, I may have to compete with her. I have found myself making salads for dinner just so I could eat olives. I guess there are worst things to crave!

For the next few weeks I am going to expand my usage of olives. These morsels can be used for so much more than just putting in a salad. For my introductory recipe, however, I thought I would share my favor way of eating them in a salad.
halloumi and olive salad

Halloumi and Olive Salad with Lemon Garlic Dressing

1 package of Halloumi, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
olive oil
1 bag favorite salad mix
1/2 cucumber, diced (I peel and remove seeds with a spoon.)
1/2 red pepper, diced
1/2 cup olives, slice in half (I use the olives in the deli not the jarred ones.)

Lemon Garlic Dressing

1 clove garlic
1/2 lemon, juiced
olive oil, equal or more than the lemon juice
salt and pepper

1. To fry the halloumi: Coat a pan with a thin layer of olive oil over medium high heat. Fry halloumi until golden brown on most sides. BEWARE: it will splatter.
2. To make dressing: Mince garlic and mash with a little bit of salt and the blade of your knife or a fork. Add garlic, lemon juice, olive oil, and pepper to a jar with a lid. Shake.
3. Assemble salad.

I like to serve this with falafel and/or pita and hummus. It is one of David’s favorite things. Halloumi is highly addictive!

I look forward to sharing my olive recipes all inspired by my growing twin belly.

2 thoughts on “Theme Time!”

Leave a Reply

