I’m Awake!

Pregnancy or Laziness?

For the last month my sleeping patterns have been a little out of whack. It takes everything in me to make it past 8:30 before getting into bed and a nap is usually required. I am having a hard time figuring out if this is me being pregnant or just lazy.

To my credit, British sunrise/sunset are very late/early. 8:30am sunrise and 3:00pm sunset can really mess with a person’s system. I am hoping that this passes soon because it makes getting things done difficult.

Anyway, my cooking style and attitude have made a full recovery. I am brainstorming and getting excited about cooking dinner again. This was not the case for the first trimester for the usual prego symptoms but I am back to feeling like myself. I am going to take full advantage of it because I am not sure how long it will last.

Last night, I went German for dinner. We had pork schnitzel, roasted potatoes, and braised red cabbage. If you have never had braised red cabbage I would highly suggest it even if you are not a cabbage lover; it has a completely different flavor. I also think it is a great alternative to sauerkraut. I know a lot of people do not like sauerkraut because of how strong it is but this is not as intense. Plus, it is so pretty!
braised red cabbage
Braised Red Cabbage

1 tbsp butter
1 red onion, sliced thinly
1 red cabbage, sliced thinly
1 apple, sliced (I used a Pink Lady but any tart apple would do fine.)
1/4 cup sugar (You could 1/2 it.)
1/3 cup apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup water
4 cloves or 1/4 tsp ground clove
salt and pepper

1. In a medium saucepan over medium heat, melt butter and add onion, cabbage, apple, and sugar. Mix well.
2. Add in the rest of the ingredients. Bring to a boil.
3. Lower heat to a simmer and cover. Continue to cook for 1 1/2 to 2 hours. The cabbage should be tender.
4. If you used whole cloves, try to find them before serving.

This would be great on any kind of pork or chicken. Or a great side dish for the holidays. I am even thinking about having it with eggs tomorrow morning. Yum.

One thought on “I’m Awake!”

  1. No one else in this house likes cabbage, but I will probably give this a whirl to see if I can’t change their minds. It looks delicious 🙂

    Thanks for sharing, Lauren! I always look forward to your recipes!

Leave a Reply

