Injuries Equals Less Productivity

Last Sunday, on our way to church I took quite the tumble. I tripped on a small sink hole of bricks, fell forwards, and proceeded to roll onto the street. I got up, dusted myself off, and tried to gain back some form of dignity. I walked away with some light scrapes and a throbbing pain on my right foot. On further examination, I realized I severally sprained my “ring finger” toe.

Usually, this type of injury would be a quick recovery. Well, not when you main form of transportation is your feet. It has been hard to stay productive with this pain in my “this little piggy had none” toe. But, now, my toe looks like it was in a battle with Muhammad Ali and feels more of a dull pain and I can return to normalcy.

At the moment, I have a few things going on. I am taking a photography course, I am working on an art project for our dining room/my office, and lastly I am preparing for my PARENTS to visit. I am sure you will be hearing and seeing a lot more about these events. For now, here is a preview of my art project.
august 2013 art project
Last week, David and I had dinner at some of David’s colleagues’ house. So, I needed to make something to impress. This week’s recipe is Amaretto Cheesecake Bars with a Chocolate Sour Cream Topping.
amaretto cheesecake bars
Amaretto Cheesecake Bars with a Chocolate Sour Cream Topping

Crust
2 cups Lotus Cookies crumbs
3 tbsp melted butter

Cheesecake Layer
1/2 cup sugar
500g/18oz cream cheese
1/4 cup milk
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp almond extract
3 tbsp Amaretto liqueur

Chocolate Sour Cream Topping
100g/4oz plain chocolate, chopped
1/2 cup sour cream

1. Preheat oven 325.
2. Mix together cookie crumbs and melted butter. Press into a 9×13 pan. Bake for 15-20 minutes.
3. Cream together sugar and cream cheese with a hand mixer. Scrap sides of bowl. Mix milk, eggs, vanilla extract, almond extract, and Amaretto.
4. Working in two batches add half of egg mixture into cream cheese and mix well in between additions. DO NOT OVERMIX! Be sure to scrape down bowl.
5. Pour cheesecake batter onto of the baked crust base. Bake for 35-40 minutes. There should be a wobble in the center. Not a liquid wobble but a jello wobble.
6. In a microwave safe bowl add chopped chocolate. In 30 second increments melt chocolate.
7. When chocolate is melted add sour cream and mix. Top cheesecake with the chocolate sour cream.
8. Refrigerate for at least 3 hours before serving. I find that cheesecake is best the next day.

This cheesecake was wonderful. I love the caramelized flavor of the Lotus crust with the creamy layer of cheesecake. It makes a great replacement for graham cracker crust. Amaretto is my favorite flavoring and it is satisfying in this cheesecake bar recipe.

I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

