Dreams and Soup

Every time we meet someone the conversation goes something like this:

Briton: Where are you from?
David: The States.
Briton: Which one?
David: I am from Illinois. The center of the country. My wife is from New Hampshire.
Me: North of New York.
Briton: What brings you to the UK?
David: I am a PhD student at the Uni.
Briton: Wonderful, what are you studying?
David: Theology. (awkward pause)
Briton: (directed at me) So, what are you doing?

This is the dreaded question. The answer to this has changed over the last two years:

…Well, I am currently looking for a job.
…I have been applying for positions as an Administrative Assistant.
…I have been looking for a retail job.
…I have been looking for a job while I knit, crochet, cross stitch, make soap.
…I have been looking for a job while I cook my way through Asia.
…I write my own blog.

It has been a really hard two years in this country. The first was the worst. This past year has been more enjoyable. The pressure is not as intense and I am finding what I really enjoy. No, I am not making money. But, we are content and I am falling in love with my passion which is hospitality.

I am using this opportunity of “free” time to plan a future for my career. I have never been able to dream like this before. The possibilities are endless. Catering. Cafe. B&B. Ice Cream Shop. Restaurant.
mydesk
So, for now I sit at my desk and I dream. My job is to be happy and to prepare for my mysterious future.

Let’s eat.

This week, I made a current favorite of David and I’s. It is a great soup year round.
Chorizo and Chickpea Soup
Chorizo and Chickpea Soup

225g/8oz chorizo, diced
1 onion, chopped
2 peppers, chopped
3 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 cup tomato paste
400g/16oz can chopped tomatoes
3 cups chicken/veggie stock
400g/16oz can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1. Heat a large pot over medium heat. Add chorizo and render fat until the chorizo is evenly browned. Drain chorizo in a bowl with paper towel and set to the side. Remove all of the oil from the pot you should still have an orange sheen in the pan. This is enough oil.
2. Sauté onion and pepper for 2 minutes until softened. Add garlic and tomato paste. Cook for another minute.
3. Add tomatoes, stock, chickpeas, and drained chorizo back to the pot. Bring to a simmer. Simmer for 20 minutes.
4. Serve with crackers or bread.

This stuff is refreshing and spicy. If you prefer a more intense spicy I would add some chili flakes with the garlic to add more heat.

One thought on “Dreams and Soup”

Leave a Reply

