The Meltdown and Disassembly

Well, the last few days have not been the greatest. Tuesday, I had a my father moment. What this means is I spontaneously did something. Of course, it wouldn’t be a true dad moment without interrupting someone else’s day.

It was the tale of the wife asks husband to fiddle with the refrigerator. Groceries everywhere, completed the task, fridge died, ice bought, miraculously comes back to life.

Then yesterday happened.

It all started off great. I did some laundry. We were having dinner with our home group that night. I was making a cake. All was right with the world.

Then came the dreaded Swiss Meringue. I whipped. I folded. I melted. I carefully added butter. I did everything in my power to make this fancy buttercream but the ultimate problem was heat. Meringue and I have never gotten along. I have tried to make basic meringues, swiss meringues, pavlovas, macaroons. Nothing has ever come out right. The worst part about my buttercream was it tasted great. So, I iced that cake anyway.

Then came the meltdown. In utter frustration with how hot I was, my eternal battle with meringue, and my desire to keep my culinary reputation in tact I had a good cry. With David by my side to console all of THE CRAZY. He gave me a good pep talk and I went back to work. disassembleThis is the disassembly.

The rest of the day passed in a happy rapport. We even had a wonderful North African meal which included some camel. I was very hesitant about eating a creature that spits but I was pleasantly surprised. It tastes like beef.
camel
My Citrus Cake with Strawberry Fluff Buttercream was absolutely delicious and I am so glad I went with the back up plan of disassemble and frost the whole thing for a second time. Hopefully, you will not have to have a meltdown like me.
Citrus Cake with Strawberry Buttercream

Citrus Cake with Strawberry Fluff Buttercream

Citrus Cake
1 cup butter, soft
1 3/4 cup sugar
4 eggs
3 cups flour
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/4 cup milk
1 tbsp vinegar
1/2 tbsp lemon extract
1/2 tbsp orange extract

1. Preheat oven to 350F/165C. Line bottom of two 9in diameter cake tins with parchment paper. Grease with butter.
2. Combine milk and vinegar in a cup and set aside.
3. In a large bowl combine flour, baking powder, and salt.
4. In a second large bowl, cream together sugar and butter until well combined with a hand mixer. Scrap down bowl. Add one egg at a time whipping well until the next egg.
5. Scrap down bowl. Add 1/3 of the dry ingredients and mix. Add 1/3 of the milk mixture and mix. Continue until all of the flour and milk is added.
6. Scrap down bowl and divid in half. In one half of the mix add lemon extract and in the other orange extract.
7. Pour one flavor into one prepared tin and the same for the other.
8. Bake 30-40 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.
9. Cool completely before assembly.

Strawberry Fluff Buttercream

1 cup butter, soft
1 container fluff
1/4 cup chopped strawberries
1 cup powdered sugar
strawberries for decoration

1. Cream butter in the a bowl.
2. Add all of the fluff into the butter. Cream together until well combined.
3. Add strawberries and blend into buttercream until there is a pink tint to the frosting and bits of strawberries throughout.
4. Add powdered sugar and cream together until smooth.
5. Frost and decorate the way you like.
Citrus Cake with Strawberry Buttercream
Hope you enjoy my cake. Have you ever had a day when everything went terribly wrong?

One thought on “The Meltdown and Disassembly”

  1. Strawberry frosting is the hardest thing I have ever made in the kitchen, hands down. I’ve tried it every which way and it is always just a bit too runny b/c the strawberries inevitably macerate with the sugar. GRR! I wonder if just using fluff and no powdered sugar would keep it at piping consistency?

Leave a Reply

