No Key for this Lime Pie

Well, this is it for my gluten-free emphasis! It has been great and I have learned a lot.

Top 3 things I have learned from Gluten-Free cooking!

1. Good luck rolling, bending, playing with gluten-free dough.
2. Gluten-Free may be more difficult to master but you do not have to sacrifice taste.
3. Lastly, Almond pie crust is my absolute favorite! It works as a great replacement for graham cracker crust (graham crackers are an American thing).

This past week, my friend asked me to make a gluten-free dessert for our Community group. We have a member who has Celiac disease and when she attends we make sure she does not miss out. My brain started to work its overloaded cooking logic. Warm weather…ice cold desserts…citrus…American desserts…Key Lime Pie…where in the world am I going to find key limes?! So, for the last Gluten-Free recipe I decided on a “No Key for this Lime Pie.”

No Key for this Lime Pie
“No Key for this Lime Pie”

Gluten-Free Almond Crust
2 1/2 cups almond meal
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp cinnamon
3 tbsp sugar
1/3 cup melted butter
1 tbsp water

1. Preheat oven 350F/180C.
2. In a bowl, mix together dry ingredients. Add in butter and water and combine well until a dough consistency.
3. In a springform pan, press the dough evenly on the bottom and an inch up the side of the pan.
4. Bake for 10 minutes.

Lime Custard
1/2 cup lime juice (about 4-6 limes)
zest of 2 limes
4 egg yolks
14oz/397g can of sweetened condensed milk

1. Mix all ingredients together until smooth.
2. Pour custard into pre baked pie crust.
3. Bake for 15 minutes.

Meringue Topping
4 egg whites
1 cup sugar

1. My trick to making a meringue is to wipe the bowl and beaters down with vinegar or lime juice in this case.
2. Turn oven up to 450F/230C.
3. Beat egg whites until frothy.
4. Add a tbsp at a time of sugar. Making sure each addition is well incorporated into the meringue. When all of the sugar is added it should have a stiff peak.
5. Cover entire pie with meringue. Bake for 5-10 minutes until golden brown.
6. Cool pie and store in refrigerator until ready to serve.

You don’t need to do a meringue topping, but I have a hard time throwing away egg whites. Another option is to serve it with sweetened whipped cream.

Well, this concludes my Gluten-Free month and a bit. I hope you have enjoyed it as much as I have. I hope to showcase the garden next week. Thanks for visiting My Homespun Haven.

One thought on “No Key for this Lime Pie”

Leave a Reply

