Gluten-Free Chocolate Espresso Loaf

In my last post, I talked a little bit about the catering I did for our housemates’ Confirmation. For that event, I made a chocolate espresso loaf. I didn’t get to try it because it was the first cake to be demolished. I wasn’t even able to taste it! The HORROR! So, I made it again!
This seemed to be the popular choice. Even my mother request the recipe. I say that as a shock because she didn’t taste it. She was asking through Skype. So, this one is for the housemates and my mom.

I should mention that this recipe is from a cookbook I received for my birthday. I made some pretty substantial adjustments to the original recipe. Usually, my recipes are 100% my creation but this was too good to not share.

Gluten-Free Chocolate Espresso Loaf

Gluten-Free Chocolate Espresso Loaf (adapted from The Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days by Tarek Malouf)

3/4 cup softened unsalted butter
3/4 cup brown sugar
3 eggs
1 cup gluten-free flour blend (use plain flour for regular loaf)
1/2 cup cocoa
1 tsp baking powder (gluten-free)
1/2 tsp salt
either:
– 3 tbsp milk and 3 tbsp strong espresso
– 6 tbsp milk and 1 tbsp coffee instant powder
1 cup dark chocolate, chopped

1. Butter a loaf pan and preheat oven to 350F/180C.
2. Cream together butter and brown sugar until well mixed. Mix in eggs and milk/coffee liquid until well combined.
3. Add dry ingredients and continue to beat until there are no lumps. Make sure to scrape down the bowl half way through mixing.
4. Mix in chopped chocolate and spread into buttered loaf pan.
5. Bake 1 hour and 15-30 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool completely.

This cake was so good. I can see why it went so fast! Just thinking about it makes me want to have a piece! I can hear it calling! Hope you have a wonderful (Memorial Day) weekend!

Leave a Reply

