Gluten Free Strawberry Rhubarb Tart

We are all moved in! It has been a crazy week. I hope to tell you about our new place next week. For now, how about a little dessert?

I decided to dedicate the month of May to the Gluten-Free community. My new ‘wife’ roommate is part of this community for health reasons. So, I am going to help my new roommate with her Gluten-Free lifestyle.

Today, while David and I were looking around High Street we walked by the outdoor market where there was the smell of fresh strawberries. There were also a few boxes of fresh rhubarb. Rhubarb is a popular flavor around these parts. Yorkshire is famous for this stuff. If you have never had rhubarb it looks like celery but tastes like an unripe berry. We had a rhubarb plant growing up and my mom used to pick a stalk, dip it in sugar, and eat it like celery. Beware rhubarb leaves are poisonous! This treat reminds me of my mom and my cousin who love strawberry rhubarb pie.
Gluten Free Strawberry Rhubarb Tart
Gluten Free Strawberry Rhubarb Tart

Crust:
2 1/2 cup almond meal
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking soda
3 tbsp sugar
1/3 cup melted butter
1 tbsp water or apricot schnapps (I had it, shrug.)

Mix together dry ingredients. Add in butter and liquid and mix well. It should have the consistency of cookie dough. In a spring-form pan, press the dough evenly on the bottom and little up the sides. Bake 350F/180C for 10 minutes.

Filling:
1 1/2 cup fresh rhubarb, cut in 1/2 inch pieces (3 medium size stalks)
3 cups fresh strawberries, cut in quarters (16oz/400g pack)
1 tbsp apricot schnapps, optional
1/2 cup sugar
1 tbsp gluten-free flour blend or cornstarch

Combine all of ingredients except the flour or cornstarch in a saucepan. Simmer for 40 minutes. I prefer a jam texture. In a bowl, whisk together flour/cornstarch and 1/4 cup of hot filling until there are no lumps. Add back to the pan and whisk well. Add to crust.

Crumble Topping:
3/4 cup gluten-free flour blend
2 tbsp butter, cut into cubes
1/4 cup brown sugar

Use hands to rub butter into the flour and sugar. It should resemble sand. Sprinkle over filling in pan. Bake 350F/180C for 25 minutes. Let cool completely before serving. Serve with ice cream or whipped cream.

Enjoy! I can’t wait to see what the roommate thinks! So far, the husband wants to devour the whole thing!

One thought on “Gluten Free Strawberry Rhubarb Tart”

  1. Reblogged this on Keep Calm and Just Run and commented:
    I made this for Mother’s Day. It was absolutely delicious! The only thing I would add is to soak the ends of the rhubarb in cold water for an hour if you’ve bought it a couple of days beforehand. I also add a teaspoon of water to the rhubarb and strawberry mix when I simmered it. Absolutely delicious! Thank you, My Homespun Haven!

Leave a Reply

