The Sun and Caramel Sauce

The sun has found the UK again! We also changed our clocks Saturday evening, which must have been hard on those parents with Easter baskets to set up.
spring20131
Because today was a whopping 45F I decided to take some shots of a beautiful tree across the street. Anyone able to identify it for me? I think it might be dogwood.
spring20134spring20132
I was so excited about the sun that I was able to shoot this incredible image. It was hard to see what I was doing because I was staring into the sun. But, I was successful! I was very happy when I uploaded the images. Sunglasses will be worn next time!
spring2013
I also took a few of the tulips a friend bought me. They are just so pretty. Spring is here!!!
spring20133
Anyway. Back to the ice cream! We had a few people over for Easter on Sunday. I served a leg of lamb (perfectly medium rare), couscous salad, carrots and peas. For dessert, I decided to make Pistachio and the Cadbury Creme Egg Ice Cream for dessert and I served it with my wonderful salted caramel sauce. Everyone more than loved my dessert. I do have to say I spoiled our guests a little bit.

caramelsauce

Salted Caramel Sauce
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup double cream (heavy cream)
1 tsp vanilla
1/2-1 tsp salt, to taste

1. In a medium saucepan, mix together the butter and sugar over medium heat. Melt together and stir until you get an amber color.
2. Slowly add in the cream. BEWARE! The mixture will rapidly boil and may spit at you so be careful!
3. Let the mixture thicken over medium heat. When the mixture coats the back of a spoon stir in the vanilla and salt. Taste and adjust the seasoning.
4. I store mine in a glass jar in the refrigerator. To warm up, I place it in the microwave for 30 seconds, stir, 30 seconds. I would say no more than four days in the refrigerator.

Great news! This was supposed to conclude the Ice Cream Month, however, I am not finished yet. So, April will be a continuation of the Ice Cream Month!

Hope you all are enjoying the sun!

Leave a Reply

