Orange n’ Cream Ice Cream

One of the weird things I miss is Cracker Barrel. I know, I know. Some of you are thinking why? It must just be the home cooking/down country feel. If I were there I would order Chicken n’ Dumplins with fried apples, hashbrown casserole, and biscuits with apple butter.  The idea of that American sized portion made me a little nauseated. To wash it all down I would drink a Stewart’s Orange n’ Cream soda. It’s like dessert in a bottle.
orangeicecream2
I am usually not an orange fan but when it is paired with cream I love it. Once again, I think it is the tart acidic taste. Too much for the mighty taste buds. I remember my mom buying Orange Creamsicles as a treat. They were popsicles with ice cream on a stick with popsicle on the outside. Yum.
orangeicecream3
So, this week I created Orange n’ Cream Ice Cream. I have to say my photography skills are improving. I decided to make candied orange slices to make it pretty. Here is the link I used for my pretty orange slices. I should mention that I used blood oranges for everything. But, you can’t really tell. Blood oranges are a little mysterious. You won’t know how “bloody” they are until you slice it. Anyway.
orangeicecream
Orange n’ Cream Ice Cream

2 cups single cream (half and half)
1/2 cup sugar
4 egg yolks
4 oranges, juiced(about a cup) and zest from two (I just used a veggie peeler)
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp salt

1. Add cream and zest into a saucepan and heat slowly. DO NOT BOIL.
2. Whisk together yolks and sugar in a bowl until pale yellow.
3. Slowly whisk the warm cream into the egg/sugar mixture. This is called tempering. You do not want scrambled eggs.
4. When the eggs are warmed with the milk add it into the saucepan.
5. Continue to heat slowly and always stirring. Keep stirring. You will know it is thick enough when the back of the spoon is coated. It may take a few minutes but it will be a sudden change.
6. Turn off heat. Add juice, salt, and vanilla. Stir well.
7. Pass it through a fine sieve. Cool completely.
8. Refrigerate for at least 3 hours. Churn according to the ice cream maker’s instructions. Stir in your mix-in, freeze, and enjoy!

Yummy! This is a great ice cream. Simple and easy. Give it a try!

One thought on “Orange n’ Cream Ice Cream”

Leave a Reply

