Coffee Ice Cream

My all time favorite ice cream flavor is coffee. I still remember when McDonald’s had coffee shakes available. And that was a long time ago. I am sure this is something that I picked up from my mother because she would buy plain coffee ice cream from Market Basket. Do you remember the ice cream boxes? They were basically a brick of ice cream folded in a flimsy piece of cardboard. I was just reminiscing.
coffeeicecream1
Anyway, the funny thing about my coffee ice cream obsession is that I don’t like coffee. In the morning, I drink tea while David has his coffee with milk. I will have the occasional mocha or latte from a coffee shop, but I won’t drink it at home. I think the bitterness is too much for my super strength taste buds.

However, coffee ice cream like a coffee shop espresso drink has the sugar and cream mixed into the ‘elixir of life’. So, for my coffee creation I decided to mix in something. My lovely sister (teamed with her MIL) sent an American M&M care package. Inside were the peanut, plain, and mini variety. (The peanut lasted about two days.) The result is a little piece of home for this lately homesick American. It was the perfect reminder of home.
coffeeicecream
Coffee Ice Cream

2 cups whole milk
1 cup single cream (half & half)
1/2 cup whole coffee beans
4 egg yolks
1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp salt
Optional: 1/2 cup your favorite mix in. I used mini m&ms.

1. Combine milk, cream, and coffee beans in a saucepan. Warm up slowly. DO NOT BOIL.
2. Whisk together yolks and sugar in a bowl until pale yellow.
3. Slowly whisk the warm milk into the egg/sugar mixture. This is called tempering. You do not want scrambled eggs.
4. When the eggs are warmed with the milk add it into the saucepan.
5. Continue to heat slowly and always stirring. Keep stirring. You will know it is thick enough when the back of the spoon is coated. It may take a few minutes but it will be a sudden change.
6. Turn off heat. Add salt and vanilla. Stir well.
7. Pass it through a fine sieve. Cool completely.
8. Refrigerate for at least 3 hours. Churn according to the ice cream maker’s instructions. Stir in your mix-in, freeze, and enjoy!

I hope to show you all my wonderful ice cream maker this week! And I am still working on my special ice cream cones!

Leave a Reply

