Pistachio Ice Cream and The Cone Experiment

My whole world was changed when I had Pistachio Gelato for the first time. It was in London about a year ago at a Gelateria in Covet Garden. It was not that almond extract neon green stuff. It was pure salty, pistachio, pale, pale green. It was the most beautiful color. Pistachio ice cream has to be my favorite color.
pistachioicecream2
Ever since that moment I have wanted to duplicate that creamy delight. A few months ago, I tried a recipe that I had found. Lesson learned from that experience. NEVER USE CORNSTARCH IN ICE CREAM. You should never need it anyway if you are using egg yolks. So, one of my rules in making ice cream is do not try to save on calories! If you are going to eat ice cream, eat it. Don’t try to cut caloric intake corners.
pistachioicecream
Pistachio Ice Cream

2 cup whole milk
1 cup single cream (half and half)
6 egg yolks
1/2 cup pistachios, de-shelled and no salt added
1/2 cup sugar, divided
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp salt (KEY INGREDIENT)

1. Toast pistachios in a 325F/160C oven for 5-10 minutes. Until nice and fragrant. Cool completely. Grind the pistachios and 1/4 cup sugar in food processor. You want the mix like chunky sand. Do Not Over Chop!
2. Combine milk, cream, and pistachio mix in a saucepan. Warm up slowly. DO NOT BOIL.
3. Whisk together yolks and 1/4 cup sugar in a bowl until pale yellow.
4. Slowly whisk the warm milk into the egg/sugar mixture. This is called tempering. You do not want scrambled eggs.
5. When the eggs are warmed with the milk add it into the saucepan.
6. Continue to heat slowly and always stirring. Keep stirring. You will know it is thick enough when the back of the spoon is coated. It may take a few minutes but it will be a sudden change.
7. Turn off heat. Add salt and vanilla. Stir well.
8. Pass it through a fine sieve. Cool completely.
9. Don’t throw away the pistachio mix leftover from straining. Add it to your oatmeal in the morning or pancake mix. Yum!
10. Refrigerate for at least 3 hours. Churn according to the ice cream maker’s instructions. Freeze and enjoy!

The only thing that would make it better is to see if my Dad prefers it over the fake stuff. Pistachio is his favorite. Maybe, I will make it for him when my parents visit!

For ice cream month I am currently working on my “Cone Experiment.” I am working on a specific kind of cone and my first trial didn’t go so well. Here is a picture of my first results.
coneexperiment
Hopefully, I will have success by the end of this week!

2 thoughts on “Pistachio Ice Cream and The Cone Experiment”

Leave a Reply

