Ice Cream Month!

Ice cream is my favorite treat! Coffee, chocolate, mint, sweet cream, clotted cream, pistachio. There are thousands of possibilities when it comes to ice cream flavors and mix ins. But, ultimately homemade ice cream is better than store-bought. In New England, ice cream stands are everywhere. My family’s favorite one was Sullivan Farms in Tyngsboro, Massachusetts. My favorite was coffee M&M or mocha chip. My mother’s was coffee Heath Bar (I take after her). We also required “jimmies” or sprinkles. Dad would go for raspberry or pistachio.
raspberryicecream1
So, in honor of my favorite treat I have decided to dedicate March to making ice cream. People ask if I would ever have my own restaurant? The answer is usually no but I would think about opening an ice cream stand. So, I would like to share a little bit of my frozen creamy treat passion with you.

First up is Raspberry. I hate berries. I always have. Strawberries are hit and miss. But, every other berry I have a really hard time with. I believe it is the tartness. Some times the seeds are too much, but, mostly it’s the tartness. However, ice cream is a different story. It was at Sullivan Farms that David had raspberry chip. I asked for a taste and I loved it. The perfect mix of tart and sweet. So, this week was dedicated to that one moment of revelation!
raspberryicecream2
Raspberry Ice Cream

1 cup whole milk
1 cup single cream (half and half)
4 egg yolks
1/2 cup sugar
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp salt
1 pkg (350g/12oz) frozen raspberries
1 bar good quality dark chocolate, chopped (optional)

1. Mix raspberries and 1/4 cup water in a saucepan. Simmer together until the raspberries are completely broken down. Strain in a fine sieve. Set aside and cool completely.
2. Combine milk and cream in a saucepan. Warm up slowly. DO NOT BOIL.
3. Whisk together yolks and sugar in a bowl until pale yellow.
4. Slowly whisk the warm milk into the egg/sugar mixture. This is called tempering. You do not want scrambled eggs.
5. When the eggs are warmed with the milk add it into the saucepan.
6. Continue to heat slowly and always stirring. Keep stirring. You will know it is thick enough when the back of the spoon is coated. It may take a few minutes but it will be a sudden change.
7. Turn off heat. Add salt and vanilla.
8. Pass it through a fine sieve. Cool completely.
9. When the custard is cooled add the raspberry puree.
10. Refrigerate for at least 3 hours. Churn according to the ice cream maker’s instructions.
11. Add in the chocolate chunks and freeze.

So, I hope you enjoy. What are some of your favorite flavors?

2 thoughts on “Ice Cream Month!”

  1. This looks so yummy! I am going to try with almond milk to avoid the lactose. I love making vanilla and adding chocolate covered espresso beans, peanut butter cups or malted milk balls

Leave a Reply

