St. Valentine and Mushroom Brie Tart

David and I celebrated St. Valentine’s Feast Day yesterday at home. David had a very busy day yesterday at the office. He was sweet and left me a letter on his pillow so I found it when I woke up. I also had some busy plans for the day.

First, I had to make an impromptu trip to the office to visit David. It is over 2 miles total so I skipped the gym. Did the grocery shopping and went home to start the cooking. First, the cake. I had decided to do a red velvet cake because of the color. However, when I took it out of the oven I realized I had made quite the mess. I keep forgetting that my cake pan is 7 inches in diameter. Well, I had cake everywhere. Here was the result.

velvetfailWell, after tasting my sad-looking cake I decided that I am not even a red velvet fan. I would prefer chocolate cake with vanilla icing or vanilla cake with chocolate icing. So, after the velvet fail I decided to make my usual chocolate cake with a simple vanilla cream cheese frosting and Galaxy Counters.

valentinescake

For dinner, I had planned to do something that I would usually not eat. I try not to fry anything or use tons of cheese. So, for our special Valentine’s Day meal I decided to go with a Mushroom Brie Tart. This was a perfect meal to make ahead. I was able to make it and keep it in the refrigerator until 30 minutes before dinner.

I was quite shot happy with the camera yesterday. I have a few tips when it comes to cooking this meal and I took some shots to help.

brie tart2When you are cooking mushrooms the key is to give them room. Mushrooms are mostly water. If you crowd them in a pan they will just boil in their own juices. If you give them room they will become golden brown and delicious!

brie tart3I have a thing for texture. Brie is very hit and miss with me. I like it warm. And I hate the rind/skin. So, I decided to remove the rind before I added it to my tart.I just used a paring knife. You could leave it on. It is all your preference.

brie tart1Part of the assembling process.

brie tart

Mushroom Brie Tart

1 tsp oil
1 onion, thinly sliced
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1 pkg chestnut mushrooms, sliced (Use full flavor mushrooms not white.)
1 tbsp butter
1 wedge brie or camembert, remove the rind if you want
1 pkg puff pastry, cut in half
1 egg, whisked

1. Heat oil in a frying pan over medium high heat. Fry the onions until they develop color about 3-5 minutes.
2. Add garlic and thyme and fry for 1 minute. Set to the side.
3. Working in batches fry the mushrooms. Make sure the mushrooms have full contact with the pan and are not crowded. Fry on both sides and add to the onion mix.
4. When all of the mushrooms have been cooked add the mix back to the pan and melt in the butter. Cool the mix completely.
5. Cut the cheese into small pieces.
6. On a well oiled sheet pan lay one half of the puff pastry.
7. Next layer the cheese on the pastry leaving a 1/2 inch edge. Mound the cooled mushroom mix on top of the cheese.
8. Brush the 1/2 inch edge with the egg. Lay the second half of puff pastry on top of the mushrooms. Press the edges together and make sure to avoid any air bubbles from forming.
9. You could crimp the edges with a fork.
10. Let the pastry refrigerate for at least 20 minutes or no more than 24 hours.
11. Preheat oven 375F/190C. Brush with egg wash and bake for 20-25 minutes. 12. Enjoy.

We had a wonderful dinner. We watched Tangled and enjoyed our tart and cake. Hope you had a wonderful holiday with your loved ones!

Leave a Reply

