David’s Birthday and Spanakopita Mushrooms

Last Monday was David’s 26th birthday. He posted his own blog on his birthday which you can check out here. I asked David earlier what he wanted to do and he wanted to throw a shindig. If you know David he is quite the entertainer and thankfully he married a fellow entertainer.

For the month of January, we had been on a no added sugar fast. I recently broke that fast. And yes, I did break it with a Cadbury creme egg.  We did pretty good. With David’s birthday amongst our fast time I did make the exception for the birthday cake. I also made a mezze spread for our guests. When it comes to cuisine David loves all things Mediterranean/Middle Eastern. I ended up doing a sort of review through my Asia challenge. I made falafel, tyrokafteri (spicy feta dip), muhammara (red pepper and walnut dip), hummus, pita, assorted veggies, and spanakopita stuffed mushrooms. To top it all off I made David’s Chocolate Amaretto Cheesecake. The cheesecake was to die for and I was able to get rid of the whole thing so it wasn’t left behind taunting us in the refrigerator.
spanakopita mushrooms
Spanakopita Stuffed Mushrooms

5oz/140g frozen spinach, thawed and squeezed dry
1/2 onion, minced
1 tbsp cream cheese
4oz/100g feta
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp dried dill
1 egg
2 packages of smallish mushrooms (I used chestnut.)

1.Combine dried spinach, onion, and cream cheese in the food processor and blend together.
2.Scrape down sides and add feta, garlic powder, and dill. Blend together until feta is well incorporated.
3.Scrape down sides and add egg. Blend until mixed well.
4.Let mix sit in fridge while you prep mushrooms. Remove stems from the mushrooms. I threw the chopped stems into a soup during the week.
5.Using a small teaspoon fill mushroom caps with spinach mixture. Making sure the tops are rounded.
6.Bake in 375F oven for 25 minutes.

These were gone first out of my entire mezze spread. Everyone raved about them. You could easily make the same stuffing and wrap it in phyllo dough for just spanakopita. I just hate dealing with phyllo dough so I decided to try it in mushrooms.

Everyone enjoyed the time spent together. David got some very thoughtful gifts. It was overall a very successful party.

Leave a Reply

