Cookie Exchange!

I was invited to a cookie exchange at a friend’s house yesterday. This is the second year that we have gotten together and exchanged delicious biscuits (it is only appropriate because of our location). These ladies are all wives of the gentlemen in the department with David. And for the most part we are all Americans except for our adopted South African.

The cookie exchange has been a great reminder of the holiday season in America. None of those gross mince pies. Just girly adult time with treats! It was a great break from the week. Here are the sumptuous creations of the ladies.

cookie exchange 7
cookie exchange 6
cookie exchange 5

cookie exchange 4

cookie exchange 3

cookie exchange 2

My contributions included dairy free eggnog, walnut kiss cookies, holiday biscotti, and my own oatmeal chocolate chip cookie creations.

Because of my lactose allergy I have never had a thing for eggnog. However, eggnog must be an American thing so I was curious if I could find a dairy free version. I was able to find a recipe at Healthful Pursuit. Everyone really enjoyed it. Plus, the egg yolks are fully cooked so no raw egg hazard.

The holiday biscotti is my favorite biscotti recipe. I found these delicious treats at Lick the Bowl Good. Really anything with almond extract or Amaretto and I will devour it.

Lastly, my sad walnut kiss cookies. I found this recipe at Buttercream Blondie. This was not the fault of the recipe but one of the baker. Measuring butter in this country when it comes to baking is a little difficult. In America, I know that a stick of butter equals 1/2 cup. However, in the UK a block of butter is 250g. 250g of butter is a little more than a cup. So, I used a tad too much butter in this recipe hence the flat deflated yumminess. The flavor was great but the appearance was disappointing.
cookie exchange
I wanted to share one of my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipes. My other favorite C.C. cookie recipe is the same recipe except no baking powder or oatmeal and extra 1 1/4 cup flour. Easy, right!
oatmealchocolatechipcookies

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies (6-7 dozen)

1 cup butter, softened
1 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
1 tbsp vanilla extract
2 eggs
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
2 cups flour
2 1/2 cups oatmeal (buzz through a food processor)
2 cups chocolate chips or 300g dark chocolate buzzed through food processor

1. Preheat oven to 375F/190C.
2. Cream together butter, white and brown sugar until well combined.
3. Mix in vanilla and eggs. Add baking soda, powder, and salt and mix well.
4. Add flour and oatmeal “flour” and work with those muscles until you have cookie dough and no leftover flour.
5. Mix in chocolate chips.
6. Form into 1 inch balls with 1 inch spacing on a cookie sheet. Bake for 10 minutes.

I like to make this cookie dough and form into balls and freeze on a cookie sheet for an hour. Then I move the cookie dough balls to a tupperware container for warm cookies any time. I bake them from frozen at 375 for 15 minutes.

The only downside to a cookie exchange…too many cookies! David and I have to make sure we don’t stuff ourselves on buttery, sugary treats. Though I will admit I did have a cookie or two for breakfast this morning.

Leave a Reply

