Knitting Season and My First Pair of Sock

My knitting/crocheting goes through a yearly cycle. From the end of August until March I am a yarn addict. I always have needles in my hand. I knit on the bus; on the couch; in the coffee shop. I could knit anywhere. However, by the end of March I can’t look at another ball of fluffy, wooly goodness. I take a break from creating needlework. It is warm and I don’t really want to be cooped up hold warm cozy yarn. This summer I turned my attention to cross stitching.

Well, it is now yarn season in the Mosley household. I knitted my nephew a blanket.
You can find the pattern at Stick – Legged Girl. I have made this blanket a few times. It is my go to baby blanket. The best part about this blanket is that it is knitted on one side and lined with flannel on the other.

My latest creation was my first pair of socks! I had done Christmas stockings before and I remembered how much trouble they gave me. So, ever since my encounter with the curvy creations I have been intimidated. I made it a priority for the beginning of my season to try again. I was so proud of myself! Let’s just say that my family is lucky because they almost got socks for Christmas. But, I gave it a second thought.
The way they look flattened out kind of reminds me of the socks in How The Grinch Stole Christmas!

I love OWLS! Everything owls! So, I did these cute little owl socks which I found the pattern on Ravelry. If you are a Ravelry user, I created a project log with all of the details on my creation here.
Here is an outline of the owl cable. My mom was having a hard time identifying the little critter.

I am just now putting together my plan for Christmas. I don’t really like to give something I bought at the store unless it shows some thought. I like to give gifts that I have made or that I have come across and it made me think of that person.

Do you have your homemade Christmas gift planning done? Am I the only one that goes through a cycle of knitting? What have you been making while locked up from the cold? Let me know. I would love to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

