Asia Complete!

Well, I did it! I am so proud of myself. I have completed my Asia Challenge. I have cooked something from every country in Asia and I have learned a lot.

My Asia mission has taught me a lot about cultures and the melting together of flavors. I have learned how western world has influenced the eastern continent. Whether it be Portuguese in the Philippines, French in Laos, America in Vietnam, or Russia in the -stans there is some other cultural influence on other cuisines.

We have eaten our fair share of rice and noodles. Lots of cinnamon, cardamom, and turmeric. I should have bought stock in garlic and ginger. My palette has changed. I have learned more about what flavor combinations I like. I developed some new favor treats and dishes that will become regulars on my menu.

There were some not so successful meals. But, mostly meals that made me excited to try more. I already have some ideas brewing of different Asian meals we could have. Here are my top 5 recipes from this experience:
1. Char Sui from Hong Kong (As good as the restaurants if not better!)
2. Shakshouka from Israel (Eggs and tomatoes are a great pairing.)
3. Gyoza from Japan (Worth the work!)
4. Muhammara from Syria (I have made this several times for people and it is always a hit!)
5. Chai Tea (Coffee shop powdered stuff cannot touch the real deal!)

So, what now?

I think I am going to take a two month break. I am going to immerse myself in the holidays. Making gifts and cooking up a storm as usual. But, my plan is to travel to Europe during 2013! I will let you know what that looks like during the first week of January. Until then, I will be sure to post some yummy treats for the holidays. I would also like to share a little bit of Nottingham with you.

Thanks for sticking with me during my tasty travels. Until next time.

Leave a Reply

