Tea Time and Iraq

Tea is taken very seriously here in the UK. I would go as far as to say that the way Americans think about Starbucks and Dunkins is the same way Britons think about tea. The battle of Tetley/Twinings/Yorkshire is like the Red Sox versus the Yankees. Everyone has an opinion about what type of tea is the best.
David and I have been in Nottingham for a year now and tea time has become part of our routine. If you know much about us we were fond of tea and time for the relaxing beverage before we came to this country. At our wedding, we gave out tea and honey as our favors. David even facilitated a tea time at our university for a few years.
I decided to share with you our tea space. We have a whole section of the kitchen devoted to all things hot beverages. A few things I want to point out.
Electric tea kettle is a must! If you do not have one I would suggest getting one. I use it to boil water fast for pasta and other things and not just tea and coffee.
Lady Grey Tea is my absolute favorite tea. It is similar to Earl Grey but less bergamot and more citrus. I also have chai spice mix (2 tsp cinnamon, cardamom, 1 tsp clove, ginger) in this cabinet for a quick chai tea.
This week, I NEEDED to work on my Asia Challenge. I have neglected the challenge for almost three weeks and I need to take a baby step back into it. What a better way to jump back in than with COOKIES!

Iraq
Original Word: Rebirth
Nationality: Iraqi
Language: Arabic or Kurdish
Population: 31,129,225
39th largest country in the world.
Capital: Baghdad

Kleeja (Cardamom Cookie)

3 cups flour
1 tbsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp cardamom
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup oil (flavorless like canola, vegetable, sunflower)
1 egg
1/4 cup milk (I used almond milk.)

1. Preheat oven to 350F/175C.
2. Mix together dry ingredients in a large bowl. Mix together wet ingredients in a small bowl.
3. Add wet to the dry and mix well. It should come together into a large ball.
4. You may need a little more milk to help it come together. If that is the case use a splash at a time.
5. Let the dough rest for 15 minutes.
6. Roll out 1/4 inch thick. Use a cookie cutter or a glass to cut out cookies. I used a moon cookie cutter.
7. Bake on parchment paper or on a lightly greased pan for 15-20 minutes.

These were great for tea or coffee. Perfect for dunking! I would say they are more on the scone side and less of a cookie. The dough is very versatile. You could replace cardamom with pumpkin spice, chai spice mix, or just cinnamon. These were great with my homemade chai latte! Who knew almond milk would froth?

Try this recipe and let me know what you think. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

