Hong Kong and North/South Korea

Hong Kong

Original Word: Not China
Nationality: Chinese or Hong Konger
Language: Cantonese
Population: 7,153,519
99th largest country in the world.
Capital: There is no capital.

Everyone has a favorite when they go to a Chinese Restaurant. I can tell you that David’s favorite is crab rangoon at First Wok in Lincoln and Salt and Chili Squid at Lucky’s in Beeston. My favorite is duck sauce. My whole family loved duck sauce. One of my family’s favorite poo poo platter items was the radioactive red pork things. The best part about poo poo platter take out containers was if you were lucky the red sticky sauce would spread to the other fried goodies for a special sweet treat. Well, Char Sui is where the red pork strips came from. My rendition was not red. Oh, well.

Char Sui (Glazed Pork)

3 Pork Chops, cut into one inch pieces
2 tbsp honey
2 tbsp hoisin sauce
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp mirin
1/2 tsp white pepper
1/2 tsp five spice
1/2 tsp sesame oil

Mix everything together and marinate overnight.

Glaze
1 tbsp honey
1 tbsp hoisin sauce
1/2 tbsp soy sauce
1/2 tbsp mirin

1. Dry off pork pieces on a paper towel and let rest for 15 minutes to get the chill off. Preheat the broiler.
2. Wrap a baking sheet in foil and oil well. Spread the pork pieces out on the foil.
3. Broil 5-7 minutes. There should be some caramelization happening.
4. Turn pieces and spoon some glaze onto each piece.
5. Broil for five more minutes. They should be nice and charred.
6. Toss the pieces with the rest of the glaze. They should be nice and sticky!

These were amazing. I will warn you. I hate licorice, fennel, anise, and 5 spice. I didn’t use very much and it added a perfect amount of 5 spice flavor for me but if you want more go ahead! You can used what ever pork product you want. Pork belly, loin, ribs. I had some pork chops in the freezer.

North Korea

Original Word: Separation
Nationality: Korean
Language: Korean
Population: 24,589,122
49th largest country in the world.
Capital: Pyongyang

South Korea

Original Word: Separation
Nationality: Korean
Language: Korean
Population: 48,860,500
25th largest country in the world.
Capital: Seoul

I LOVE KOREAN FOOD!!! I don’t know what it is about Korean food but I love it. Bulgogi is the best. Make it. Find a recipe with pear in it and it will change your life. I use a marinade from the Asian market which has pear juice in it. It is one of those things that needs to marinade overnight but is worth the wait: Kimchi. I can’t. Everyone who knows me knows I can barely do mild salsa. David likes it.

I decided to keep it simple for North/South Korea. I have made bulgogi many times and it is a staple in our family. So, I decided to try glass noodles (sweet potato noodles) for the first time.

They look like translucent both dry and cooked. They taste like rice noodles but stretch. David and I discussed at dinner that they would make a great Halloween prank. They look and feel like jellyfish.

Jap Chae (Glass Noodles)

1 tsp oil
3 cups vegetables (I use a pre made stir fry mix in the lettuce section.)
2 bundles of sweet potato noodles
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 cup soy sauce

1. Cook the noodles according to the instructions on the bag.
2. Rinse the noodles in cold water. You should be able to stick your hands in the noodles and they should be cold, wet, and no residue on your hands.
3. Dry the noodles well.
4. Heat oil in a wok or large sauté pan. Cook vegetables for 5 minutes until they are tender.
5. Add garlic into the vegetable and stir for a minutes. Set vegetables aside.
6. Add noodles to the wok. Stir continuously for 3 minutes. Add 1/2 soy sauce. Stir for a minutes.
7. Add veggies and rest of soy sauce. Toss well. Serve.

I really liked them. They do have a different texture than regular rice noodles because they are so stretchy. They would make a great accompaniment with my next bulgogi night.

Let me know what you favorite poo poo platter item is! Or if you tried out a recipe!

One thought on “Hong Kong and North/South Korea”

Leave a Reply

