The Boy with the Bread (Hunger Games Reference)

 

Water. Flour. Salt. Three ingredients make our bread. How many ingredients are in your bread? How many of them consist of more than three syllables?

I like knowing as much as I can about what I put into my body. I haven’t always made the healthiest choices but I am trying to change that. Eating less processed foods is a great way to turn over a new leaf. I do have to admit that Doritos, store bought cookies, and even the dreaded soft drink are eaten some times. Not very often but every once and a while. But, enough on my guilty pleasures.

David and I have always been bread bakers. We love to mix, knead, and bake bread. I love working with my hands. I love the process of turning flour and water into a perfect elastic ball of goodness. The anticipation of leaving it to rise and seeing how large it got or even how many bubbles have developed. Listening for the crust to “sing” which doesn’t happen every often. “Sing” is the sound of cracking crust when you take it out of the oven.

Many of you are probably asking the yeast question. I have turned to sourdough. I no longer buy yeast. I use a sourdough starter for everything. Sourdough starters are wild yeast that is in the air. Every location has different yeasties. This is why San Francisco is known for sourdough. You can easily start your own sourdough starter with water and flour. Some use grapes, pineapple juice, or other fruit to guide the starter. Here is a website that helped me make “Mara.”

Mara is our sourdough starter. Mara is our pet. She has a home (our furnace closet). We feed her everyday. We take very good care of her and she makes our delicious bread. I have even had “grandchildren” from Mara.

Many of you may be asking the money question: Is it cheaper to buy bread or to make it?

One Month (Bread bill)

Bought Bread: £6

Homemade Bread: £3

Savings of £3 a month.

Homemade bread has some great advantages. Cheaper, healthier, no preservatives.

I am not going to lie. It does take some time. Here is a quick and easy bread recipe for those who don’t have a lot of time. For more bread recipes find me on Pinterest!

So, think about changing your bread habits!

Leave a Reply

