Beer Spinach Onion Cheese Dip

Today, David decided that we needed to have an at home date. I sometimes have a hard time getting into the right mind set for these. I think about how I need to make a meal that is special. Therefore, I make it so complicated that I spend more time preparing and cooking that I neglect him. I would say that my love language is Service while his is Quality Time.

So, I decided to be a little rebellious. It is Christmas time and we are usually attending a few parties during this time and get to enjoy all of the yummy party food. I have been wanting appetizer type food. It probably has to be my guilty pleasure. Meatballs, kielbasa, stuffed mushrooms, veggies, and of course DIP. I decided to make some homemade bread and dip for our date night in. I was having a very very very hard time deciding which dip to make. Beer Cheese Dip. Spinach Artichoke Dip. Onion Dip. So, I decided to combine them all. How could you go wrong? Here is how I did it.

Beer Spinach Onion Cheese Dip

Image

Ingredients (UK measurements)

Small onion, half shredded and half chopped

1 tbsp olive oil

8 oz (250g) package of cream cheese

1/2 cup sour cream

1 cup cheddar cheese, shredded

10 oz box of spinach, defrozed and water squeezed out (My spinach came in a bag. In this bag they were in compacted into little squares of spinach which was very handy. I used five blocks.)

1/2 cup good quality beer

salt and pepper

Image

First you want to prep your onion. I shredded half of my onion. I suggest doing shredding the onion near your sink and turning on the hot water faucet. This will help to soften the blow to your poor eyes.

Image

I chopped the other half of the onion. I think it would be fine if you wanted to skip the shredding.

Image

Caramelizing the onions is key. With a small sauté pan heat up the tbsp of olive oil. You want your heat low. The trick to caramelizing onions is to do it low and slow. This will be the most time consuming part. After about 10 minutes I add some salt this will help to draw out the moisture from the onions and develop that wonderful color. To get delicious onions they need to be cooked like this for 20 minutes or more. I wasn’t very patient with mine.

Image

While your onions are turning yummy prepare the rest of the dip. Mix together the cream cheese (in the UK it is called soft cheese), sour cream, cheese, spinach, and salt/pepper.

Image

When your onions are done turn the heat off and add the beer. Mix well. Let sit for 10 minutes.

Image

Add the slightly cooled onion beer mixture to the rest of the dip and mix well.

Image

I made some ciabatta to go with this wonderful dip. Actually, I made the bread then decided to make the dip. To find the recipe head over to The Kitchn.

ImageWith the bread I will also have some carrots and celery. I need to feel a little less guilty by adding the veggies!

Image

I of course had to taste test it. It is amazing! This will be my go to dip recipe. You can easily leave out the beer if you would like. Beer bread would also be a wonderful pairing for this. Now that I have made everything this morning I can now enjoy my quality time with the husband. Let me know what you think!

One thought on “Beer Spinach Onion Cheese Dip”

Leave a Reply

